August 29, 2017 – More Trump Agony

The US is in the middle of a huge crisis.  Trump came out and said everyone would be back to normal quickly because that is how he does things  I wonder if after seeing the area today he will still want to say that?  I heard one woman interviewed who had been through Katrina and now is suffering from Henry.  Her comment was that the man had no idea of what he is he talking about.  This is not going to be fixed any time soon.

When is he going to use his speech writers? My son was a speech writer for Mayors and Governors and would tell us about the hours spent getting it just right.  How to make the boss look good but also make the people respond positively. It is an art and those leaders also knew they needed to pay attention and use those words.  This man does not have a clue.  People in Texas and Louisiana do not need a political speech today. They need compassion and caring, not false promises. I hope he comes through for them but I fear he will only disappoint.

And just last week he signed a change in policy around flood plains and restrictions and protections.  So next time it floods anywhere and the protections are not there you will all know who to thank.

Was also wondering what 40 to 50 inches of rain would look like at my winter house? I have always thought that because we are higher than the house behind us and the road we would be okay in a flood. If the power went out we would suffer basement flooding but that would happen on a good day if the power went out. Here we are up a hill but even that might not protect us and we would be trapped for a good while if the roads washed out.  Good reason to have a stash of emergency foods. things that don’t need to be refrigerated – nuts, juices, dry cereal etc.

Summer is coming to an end and I will be back in TV land again.  We were discussing whether we could not watch as much TV when we are back home.  I tried to do that before but I have doubts if I can do it.  Every morning I enjoy listening to the morning news on the radio and then the Roundtable also on radio.  And since retiring I have made a rule not to watch TV before 5 pm. With dinner that delayed it even later.  Since the election I have seen those rules slipping away.  How can one not be tuned in to the next disaster? Everyday something seems to happen to increase stress and concern.  North Korea shooting off missiles.  Policies that help people, like safe water, disappearing.  And more stupid statements on Twitter.  God help us!

What I cannot seem to control is the increase in swearing that I seem to be doing.  I think my kids must be shocked at my language although maybe not. When I worked in Detox I learned to say a bunch of swear words I had never in my life used.  But this has been ridiculous.  I might say “what an A-Hole” but then it always turns into “a f-ing A-H”. When is this going to stop!  I just want to scream and hit my head against the wall. But I promise I won’t do that.

It was lovely and sunny out five minutes ago so I wanted to finish this and go outside and read. After two hours of grant writing, and the time to write this reading my current book would be nice.  But darn the clouds are there again. Guess I will make lunch and read inside. Darn!

Owe at least two of you an apology. I accidentally deleted your comments. This computer is touchy and the cursor jumps all over the place and I was writing to Maureen Cochran (sp) and all of a sudden my comment and hers were gone as well as the one above it shoot.  Thanks for the kind comments both of you. Never sure if anyone really enjoys it so glad to hear.

 

Leave a Reply

