June 16, 2016 – Ah to be where I love to be

Well now I can say that summer has started now that we are up here in the north. It is warm during the day and cool in the evenings. It is very dry here which is not something we usually see. Hubby used the weed wacker today to clean the trim up so it all looks very nice. He also came up with a great idea for getting rid of the weeds in front of the main entrance to the school house – without using chemicals.

I have to figure out what projects I am going to take on this summer. One is going to be delivering pictures of the various relatives to those in their family lines. I recently found a photo album with many pictures of my cousin’s parents when they were young up through the 40’s. and maybe some in the 50’s. I want to take some of the pictures and copy them myself onto the computer so I have a copy. But then they should not be kept here but passed on to their family members. I would like to find one person in my kid’s generation in each family who is interested in family history rather than giving it to the old folks. We shall see.

I also want to meet with someone from the local archives to figure out what they would like to hold there. It makes no sense to have them here since in an archives they will be copied and put on line and then anyone in the family who wants to come and see them can just do that. I don’t have things organized in a way that would make it easy for anyone to see them.

That sounds like a big enough summer plan for me. I also have a stack of books I want to read and people to connect with and day drives I want to take. In the fall I will have to report on whether I accomplished any of it…

It takes a few weeks to relax and get into the pace of things here. I am trying very hard to face up to that fact since in life I always run at a speed that needs to be slowed down. Struggling with hypothyroid every day makes it strange to say what I just said but it is true. I need my 10 hours of sleep but once I get moving I cannot stop, just have to build some passion for what I am trying to accomplish.

Another good project might be going and purchasing some furniture for the upstairs loft and actually set up my office up there so I can work and have the boxes up there. Something tells me this summer won’t be as long as I think since time flies when one is having a good time. Even this visit is very short since I have doctor’s appointments and a trip to DC to make and then more doctor’s appointments and shopping.

Why does life seem to be moving along so fast? As we move towards the end shouldn’t it be moving slower? Every day seeming to take forever? I find I just have too much to do and not enough time.

Enjoy every day and if it is warm where you are embrace it for the fall is not that far away.

July 1913

July 1 –Dominion Day. Madeline, Lennis Bryan and I got to Gan. Big celebration. Fergus givesgreat speech at the evening affair. Home at 11:30.
July 4 – Gray brothers here to buy sheep. 15 for old, 10 for young.
July 5 – All go to Arthur Slacks for mass then home and Mame comes for tea. Father Kehoe calls here.
July 6 – Madeline, Emily and I go to Mass. Dust and wind terrible. We are choked with it. B Harrison here for tea.
July 7 – Buy raspberries from Van Dusen. Frank, Lottie and Gerald here. Palmers at Ellen’s means Leo here.
July 8 – Young Berry died. Go to his funeral then all to Lansdowne picnic. Bad storm by eve but we have good drive home.
July 9 – Very tired so rest.
July 10 – Went with Emily to Lyndhurst.
July 11 – Picked berries, Madeline and I then heavy rain.
July 12 – heavy rain.
July 13 – Rain all day. Nane and Mame here.
July 14 – Started haying.
July 15-19 – Busy mowing, raking etc.
July 20 – Sunday = Madeline and I to mass. Rained all way home.
July 21 – 25 – Haying when not raining.
July 26 Friday – Emily and I go to Gan.
July 27 – Haying
July 28 – John and Chas McDonald. Annie, Fergus and family, Loretta and Somers. Leo here of course and Miss Daley of Toronto, daughter of Home Bank Manager.
July 29 – Drew rails for fence. Leo helped then he and Madeline go to Stevens meet Frank, Lottie and Gerald Stevens. Jim came too.
July 30 – Frank S. Leo, Madeline and I went up to Donnelly’s to a party. Frank danced every dance. Leo and Madeline have great time.
July 31 – Fergus and family here. Frank and Leo helped me put up hay so had chance to visit.

Leave a Reply

