May 10, 2016 – Long Point School House

As I said yesterday I am going to copy some of my grandaunt Madeline’s recollections of her time here at Long Point. They are all in her book “Memory Turns The Dial” Comments in brackets at the end of paragraphs are my comments. I love these because they are such an example of when life was simple. They led good lives and seemed to have people come into their lives that made a huge difference for them. I have teachers I remember fondly but not that ever kept in touch.

This one is Titled “$83 Per Year”

One of the first teachers was Adam Gillespie from England, an ex-soldier who had been a guard over Napoleon when the latter was exiled and a prisoner at St. Helena. Mary Moore taught in 1862 for #83.00 yearly. Duncan Horne, a very clever teacher and poet from Scotland, taught from 1871 to ’73. My parents saved many of his poems, written while at Long Point. He is buried in St. John’s cemetery at Leeds Ontario. (I checked and cannot find a record for his being buried at St. John’s. We did find in the records Mary Moore having been paid #83 per year payable at the end of the year. Not sure how she got along with no pay check. I have some of Duncan Horne’s poetry from those days)

Edward Wight, uncle of Miss Anna Wight, of Kingston and relative of Dr. Doug Wight of Brockville was another early teacher who went on to teach in Ottawa and later became Head of that city’s educational system.

Long Point was very fortunate in having the finest teachers and I have very grateful memories of my own teachers. My first was Miss Anna McRae, who left to do mission work in the British Isles. My next was Miss Ada Pierce, who later got her degree at Queen’s, married Prof. Chambers, who taught in a university in Scotland. Her father accompanied her there for the wedding. Later, when their first and only child was born, they names her “Heather”

Prof. chambers had wonder lust and taught in many of the universities of the world, while Ada Pierce Chambers wrote many articles and a few books on the different countries in which they lived. My favorites of the latter in “In an Anatolian Valley.”

This teacher of mine and another beloved one, Sadie Bryan, (Mrs Chapman) never forgot their former pupils and keep in touch with letters to me until their end of the lives in the early 1970’s.

here are two links – one to the book by Ada Pierce Chambers and one a history written by Sadie Bryan Chipman. Thought they were both kind of interesting. Might actually get the book by Ada.

https://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/ada-pierce-chambers/in-an-anatolian-valley/

http://freepages.misc.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~database/DOOLAN.htm

Leave a Reply

