June 20, 2015 – Summer is coming!!!

Today was a wonderful day.  Slept in longer than I had thought I would. Actually was shocked to see that it was  9:30 so I jumped up, probably too quickly, and dressed and found out we had no visitors yet.   Michael stopped by a little later to pick up his Bee suit.. Had a tea and chat and enjoyed that start to the day.  Then Ron stopped and helped us move the table upstairs and a chair so I can start planning how I will work up there. Have to decide whether to look out the window or down at the school house wall.  .

D and I sat outside and read and chatted and I could feel the relaxation setting in. No TV, no newspaper to spend an hour reading.  Just time for us to spend together doing things we enjoy. The day seemed to go that way.  We went to St. Denis’ Church in Athens to Mass at 5 pm. It is interesting. I have a bet on that the priest is on the Aspergers Syndrome.  He never looks directly in your eyes and he is just so cute and quick about saying the Mass.  Afterwards we chatted a little bit with Gerry Flood and his wife Pat.  He is not a relative but does work on the same Flood family that is related to ours.  We think they are connected but have not figured out how yet.

Also charged the car today so going to church we got something like 73 miles per gallon.. wow. can see how for local driving this could be a real money saver…

The big treat was dinner at Petra’s..  For those of you who don’t live in Canada, every town has a “chip- wagon” Our local one is Petra’s but hers is a step above everyone else’s.  She uses local farmers as suppliers, and the chips are cut there and fried. They are so good.  I gave myself a gluten free holiday and had a chicken burger, fries and a ginger ale.  Not very healthy but so good and fun to sit outside and eat dinner with my guy.  Here is Petra’s facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/petrasplacelyndhurst?rf=397658003620885

Suppose to rain tomorrow so will work on setting up my work area.  Also I went through one of Aunt Madelines scrapbook and found some really interesting articles that would make good rainy day reading.  She has a ton of articles about the history of Kingston Ontario, Queens University and some things about the family.  If I find anything good I will write about it later.

Letter mailed from Truro – ordinary envelope/ 18 May/ No lll / Truro / May 18 / 7:30 pm/ 1944
Thurs. May 18th ‘44

Dear All,

Well we are still in the ward, only now it is full to the door plus another ward making 81 all together – it is jammed to the door.   There are girls from Vancouver, Winnipeg, London, Toronto and Ottawa + us. So far Mary Doyle, Mary Kennedy + myself have stayed together to a degree.

I did a huge washing last night and ironed it to-day and really didn’t mind it at all. I certainly enjoy my writing case very much as it is just right to carry and you can write on it so easily. We have to go to report to Transit Officer now – shall add more later.

Well it is now 1:30 and we are all sitting on our beds reading etc. We had our instructions and for Johns sake do not say I’ve written this, we will be here 1 week from to-day and as far as you know you have not heard from me since I’ve arrived – you heard once from me – since I’ve arrived. That is all – understand, but I shall go on writing daily as long as I am able to.

We are not doing a thing other than check-up business such as rechecking documents etc.

We have this week-end off, as far as we know – so we phoned Fitz in Halifax and as far as I know we will go down there to-morrow Friday noon, and stay till Sunday nite, as it will give us a chance to see Halifax. They are planning a dance for us Mon or Tues night as there are 81 of us, there will be quite a crowd.

So far I have $40 left so I’m going alright. They also sold us bar of chocolate bars so I got some Oh Henry and refilled my little black box and it is a grand little box so handily.

I have not been able to contact Bob yet but shall try again to-night as we will be here for a week.

They were sure we were pulling out to-day noon but there was an upset- when we do pull out there will be a 3 hour notice – so – you might get a card at least.

Well there is no real news, this shall be all for now. Do give me Father Martin’s address as I want to write him an extra special thank letter as he was so nice to come out to the station.

It is raining and very dreary out. Well dears this is all for now and shall write soon again
We are not drilling or anything yet and I guess will not be,

Love + Kisses
Sheila

Leave a Reply

