June 5, 2015 – Old New Car, and prepping to get rid of old/old car

Yes the time has come to bid farewell to my beloved Toyota Corolla that I have had since 2003. It took care of me on the back roads of Rensselaer County and back and forth between NY and Baltimore and Ontario.  She has been a very nice car but the time has come to pass her on to someone who needs her more than I do.  So yesterday for the first time in my life as I remember I went and purchased a car.  A used 2012 Prius. It has all kinds of bells and whistles that I will have to figure out how to work. But it drives very nicely and is bigger than the Corolla so will be fun to have and gets 50 miles to the gallon. That I am really looking forward to.  Cannot wait to see how much gas I use driving to DC next week.

So that is the good news.  I have been mulling over in my mind over and over about the Residential Schools in Canada and what they did to the culture of the native peoples of Canada.  We did similar things here as well in trying to destroy native cultures.  The number of foreign languages that have been lost forever, the traditions that generation so young people have no memory of, and the children who never had strong bonding with family because they were taken away from those who loved them and were abused. It just drives me crazy and then I think about what is happening in the world today – The children turned into military fighters when just young children.  The girls taken from their families and turned into sex slaves.  What is the matter with humanity that we debase ourselves over and over again.  Some would say that is original sin that we carry on from generation to generation.  How sad that would be if it were true.  Then the question becomes what can we do to stop it?  I feel so helpless.  I hope my children would never behave like that towards others. But beyond that, what do I do every day that is not welcoming to others or turning a blind eye to unkindness?  I know I have a lot of anger in me that sometimes comes out rather abruptly. But would I go to the extend of actually harming someone else?  I really don’t know.  I tend to be more the hide in the closet type and try to avoid confrontation unless I feel very safe.  And safe for me is on the phone maybe where no one can touch me.

In one of my jobs I did a lot of phone work with providers.  It was always funny when they would meet me and look around and say “I thought Margaret was coming?”  I would say, “That is me” and they would always without a doubt say they thought I was a very tall woman because of the way I talked on the phone. They could not believe I was a little person.  I guess I could sound pretty powerful on the phone.

Anyway, I am sure none of those religious folks running those terrible residential schools ever read the new testament or understood that love thy enemy meant the person next to you not the scary communists way off in Russia.  They saw the native culture as an enemy and totally disrespected those families and their children and their culture.  I wonder what they think about that all today. What a terrible thing they did to such young people and several generations that have been destroyed.  If you believe in Hell then I guess maybe we might think they deserve to burn a little.

and I have added this picture because I really miss Ireland today.

DSCN4213

So, back to WWII or the aftermath of it.

Nov 14, 1945
Wednesday

Dear Mother and Dad:

I got Mother’s lovely letter. Thank you dear. I am sorry to hear you are still in bed. I will not be home for Christmas because all annual leaves have been cancelled to get in the five days leave at Christmas or New Years. So seeing as how I can’t get home in five days I shall have to wait until Jan. but when I get two weeks then I also get traveling time so it will be very nice. It is hard for mother being in bed so don’t worry about sending me anything or worrying about things.

I came off nites on Sat a.m. and had four days off. My pal Devaney came out and spent them here entertaining me. We had a perfectly wonderful time and it was grand seeing him. He is still here so I haven’t much time for much else.

Had Joe Pedette? as a patient while on nite-duty. He asked about Dad etc. He is a nice lad. Hopes to be back in Kingston by Christmas. He gave me a Whig Standard and I read about Misty being the Pres of Newman Club Alumni and Dad having triplets!

Also had Col Fallis as a pt. he is head Prot Chaplain of MD III. Every nite he had me read some article he had written or some letter he had received. He believes that but for the grace of God – goes God – type of thing. Bores me to death.

I find the Can public even more moronic than before the war. I was at a movie the other nite and in the “news” a man was explaining about Europe’s great need of food and everyone roared. Someday I hope Canadians starve a little.

Well, absolutely nothing new and startling, shall write to you a long letter soon.
love and kisses

Pat
I am dying to hear about Frank’s visit. No one has told me a thing.

I found a picture of Lt Col George Fallis. http://searcharchives.vancouver.ca/lieutenant-colonel-george-fallis-chaplain-pacific-command

2 thoughts on “June 5, 2015 – Old New Car, and prepping to get rid of old/old car”

  1. THE ABUSE IN THE RESIDENTIAL SCHOOLS IN CANADA IS FINALLY BEING ADDRESSED, BUT AS USUAL IT IS A CASE OF TOO LITTLE TOO LATE. MANY OF THOSE CHILDREN WHO ARE NOW OLD AND MIDDLE AGED SURVIVORS HAVE RECEIVED SOME GOV’T MONEY BUT THE HORROR OF THOSE SCHOOLS HASN’T BEEN FORGOTTEN. THE WOUNDS WILL NEVER TRULY HEAL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

