May 1, 2015 – Law Day and New Citizens

Did you know today is Law Day across the country???? I had not a clue and today was the day my sweet son decided to leave the practice of the law.  He has had enough of it. He use to love it and now not so much. He is entering into the difficult world of restauranteering and bartending.  Wow, what a change.  I wish him love and success and a shoulder to lean on as time goes by if he needs it.

I was awake very early this morning. 5:30 is way too early for me since I was up until about 1 or so.  I have to stop   playing on my ipad late at night. Depleting my melatonin levels and I am not sleeping. Not good for this old lady.

Today was a very special day for some very special people.  Ruaad and Noor Jasim were sworn in as citizens of the United States.  Since my parents were immigrants to this country it made me sit back and think about what it must have been like for my mom giving up her Canadian citizenship.  My Dad I don’t think so much since he had lived in Canada, the US and England so he really did not have that sense of being that my mom had.

Ruaad and Noor came to the States about 6 years ago as refugees from Iraq.  They came with two young daughters from a refugee camp in Syria.  He had been a translator and they had to flee their native land.  Our Church sponsored this wonderful family and I joined the refugee committee and helped where I could.  We found an apartment for them and then cleaned it and stocked it with furniture and bedding and everything a kitchen could need.

When they arrived at the Albany County Airport there was a welcome group who took them to their new apartment and helped them get further settled.  Now five years later, their girls attend the school at the Church, they have had another daughter who is adorable and attends Head Start.  Ruaad has been employed since shortly after arriving. Some of the men from the church mentored him in helping with resumes and job searches.  Noor attended classes to improve on her english and she has done a fabulous job.

Judge Vincent Reilly presided over the event today.  I remember him from Babe Ruth Days when his sons were playing baseball at the same time Tim was.   He appeared to be so happy to be doing this event.  There were at least 20 people there from our church and others to celebrate with the Jasims.  It felt right to be there.  I did so little in the process but just being part of it has been special.  My biggest contribution was other than cleaning the apartment was helping to throw a baby shower three and a half years ago when the new baby was coming.  We made sure they had everything they needed to get started for this baby who is now just so cute.

Because today was Law Day the Schenectady County Bar Association used that opportunity to give awards and have a speaker.  It was nice but the only problem was that most people had come by 8:30 as requested and the event did not start until 9:30 and by 10:30 no one was really interested in a speech by the college professor about the Magna Carta.  I know I was at the end of my rope, not having had any breakfast I was starting to feel totally no blood sugar. It was crash time.  The Lagowski twins had left with their mom and dad since it was way too long for 1 year olds.

Oh well. It was all very nice and I am glad I pushed myself to get up and out by 7:30 to be there.   First time ever going to a citizen swearing in.  The largest group there was from Guyana, the second seemed to be Canadians, then of the 55 there were people from Spain, Netherlands, Ireland, South Africa, Australia, Mexico, India, Pakistan, Iran, Iraq, Afganistan, Bosnia, Albania, on and on.  Pretty impressive.

Thanks to my friends for including me in their day. It was very special.

Noor and church ladies Ruaad at swearing in

One thought on “May 1, 2015 – Law Day and New Citizens”

  1. That was an absolutely lovely blog entry – thank you for sharing and all the best to Dan and the Jasim’s… There’s still an American Dream out there and everyone should cease the opportunity to find his/her’s

    Like

Leave a Reply

