April 30, 2015 – HAVE ARRIVED AT THE LAST DAY!!! Z is for Zephyr

According to the Miriam Webster Dictionary a Zephyr is:

noun zeph·yr \ˈze-fər\

: a very slight or gentle wind

a :  a breeze from the west or  b :  a gentle breeze
 What does that have to do with family? Or history? I am not sure.  Last night as I lay in bed I was wondering the same thing and then came up with this thought.   We breathe oxygen into our bodies every day. Without it we could not exist.  When we breath out carbon dioxide plants take it in and turn it back into oxygen.  So this is a continuing process.
Over the centuries it would appear that the air that circulates the earth continues to regenerate itself.  Can you imagine that there is something of your ancestors in the air you breath?   When I am out in my back yard and exhale does some of my breath turn back to oxygen and travels east over the oceans to my family in England and Wales and France? Are we connected in more ways than we could ever imagine?
As I thought about all of this I wondered aside from having some genes from each of my ancestors do I also have oxygen coming back to me?  What else do those gentle breezes carry around with them that is not newly created?
Another way to look at the zephyr might be that for me it is that gentle reminder every day that I come from somewhere, not just Buffalo, but I carry with me the  bits and pieces of pioneers, of creative, intelligent people who traveled far and made new lives for themselves and those they loved.  They built new lands, fought in battles, showed courage beyond anything I could imagine myself ever doing and survived.
I feel very blessed to have had the ancestors that I come from.  They were risk takers, leaders, and fair minded people.  They built bridges between diverse groups in the communities they lived in.   They were good people.  And you can see in their children, grandchildren and gr gr grandchildren that those genes have been passed down. If you did a survey of our current living relatives and saw the ways they then are giving back to their communities I think you would be astounded.  Maybe next year for the a-z challenge, if I remember, I might each day highlight one of those folks. From the youngest to the oldest I see and heard about the wonderful things they do for others.
Be proud you family members on both sides of my tree.
I have put in the pictures of the oldest folks I have pictures of but am also missing some. William Laughland, Andrew McArdle, Daniel O’Connor and Bridget Trainor, Margaret McGuigan, Jane Kavanaugh.
Councillor_William_Laughland__of_Southampton Andrew McArdle Daniel_and_Bridget_Trainor_O_ConnorMargaret_McGuigan_Laughland jane kavanaugh o'neill
One thought on “April 30, 2015 – HAVE ARRIVED AT THE LAST DAY!!! Z is for Zephyr”

  1. Beautiful pics.

    Thank you so much for participating in the A to Z Challenge! You rock! Congrats on getting to the letter Z! Reminder: there will be an A to Z Reflections round on May 4th. There will be a Linky for it on the main blog, so please look for it there! Please post your reflections on the challenge, visit others, and catch up on the blogs you didn’t have time to read!

    Team Macha, Helping Co-Host Czenge
    Maui Jungalow

    Like

Leave a Reply

