April 6, 2015 – E is for Emily

This is soon going to become a struggle to find names that begin with the various letters that I know enough about to write about. I might have to switch to writing about some abstract words if I cannot find a relation with that letter at the front of their first or last name.  I have to find names for 12 of the letters. Yikes… But today was easy – so many names start with E.  Gr Aunt Ellen who was single, lived alone out at Long Point for a while after Charles and family moved to Kingston.  She was a tough old bird I believe. I went through my tree looking at the letter E either first name or last name and there were a few more I know enough about to write 500 words. But I will stick with my first choice.

Emily McArdle was born in 1853 at Sweets Corners in Leeds County Ontario about 5 miles from Long Point. She was the youngest child of Andrew McArdle and Sarah McMullin.  She knew her future husband Charles from the time they were young children.  We don’t know when the romance began but they were married in 1876.  Her father was fairly well to do compared to others in the area. They had the first piano in the area and Emily and her sisters attended school in Kingston at the Notre Dame Convent. It would appear that she completed high school and may have become a teacher prior to her marriage.  She was well educated but also understood about how life on the farm should be.

At some point family lore has told us that Charles was drinking a bit and she finally pulled him back and laid down the law.  I have transcribed his diaries from the 1890’s through 1919 so far and I am very impressed by the life they led.  I figured it would be pretty lonely on the road but turns out they had a much busier social life than almost anyone I know.  People were always coming for tea or supper. Stopping by to chat.  They held dances in homes and many of the people attending would stay over night at the end of the party.

Emily was very close to her family.  The ones who lived not far she visited and they visited her often. Her sister Susie who moved to Nebraska they wrote back and forth almost weekly and sent pictures as well.  When Emily’s son Fergus was going to High School Athens, it was too far to go back and forth daily so he boarded with his Stevens cousins who lived in Athens. They were a large family and they were all very close to their cousin.

One thing is very clear as well.  Emily did not want to leave the area.  She did go with Charles to Watertown for a little while but always returned to the farm.  When he was being encouraged to go west by his Trainor cousins who wanted him to move his family to Colorado, she refused to leave. And no more was willing to move to Providence RI when he was down there working for a while.  I don’t think Charles really liked the farming and wanted something different but that was not going to happen any time soon.

When Fergus married and 10 years later announced that he and his family were moving to Kingston Ontario then Emily was willing to leave the farm.  She knew Kingston having attended school there and her grandchildren were there so moving was not so difficult.  So they did move there and she ran a boarding house for college students and others to help bring in some money while Charles worked on some construction jobs.

I believe Emily had RH neg blood type because of her difficulty having children.  That was passed on to my grandfather and my mother and to me and to my son Ian. He loves that he is a universal donor.   I cannot find RHneg blood in any other of my family lines so the McArdles win that one.

Emily died in Kingston Ontario 1928.  She did not have that longevity gene that the O’Connors possess

Pictures I have added – 1. picture of Emily and four of her siblings, Emily is back row left.  2. Emily  3. 50th wedding anniversary announcement, 4. Holy Card from her death, 5 The Stevens family my grandfather lived with in Athens.

McArdles___Emily_O_Connor___Susie_Stevens__Mary_Stevens__James_Edward__Kate_DonnellyEmily_McArdle

charles_and_emily_wedding_anniversary Emily_McArdle_O_Connor_mass_card

James_Stevens_family_James__and_Mary_Elizabeth_McARdle__Frank__George__Estella__Clara__Maurice_and_M.

3 thoughts on “April 6, 2015 – E is for Emily”

Leave a Reply

