March 21, 2015 – Sunny lovely weather and a grand St. Paddy’s Day Party

Well today we started the day with Saturday pancakes. Regular Ian’s fabulous home made pancakes and very good gluten free ones made by Maya for Grandma.  Was a lovely family breakfast and the kids seemed to enjoy the time.   Then there was running by Denis and Maya, drive to Costco by Ian and the girls and I hung out and they played imaginary games for hours.  We had a pretend birthday party for the panda bear and I named the barking puppy Samantha which seemed to go over well.  For the Birthday party we had a map of north america cake and each person at the party – the gorilla, the panda, the puppy etc got to chose which part of the map of NA they wanted to eat.  Then in the afternoon after lunch we went to Joppa Maryland to a St. Paddy’s Day party. It was interesting to find out that all those folks who we met there once before two or three years ago now all have little ones.  There were 1- 3 year old crawling all over the place and the noise was interesting. Don’t know if there were any people there other than Graham and Lauren who did not have kids there but it seemed like the adults were almost out numbered by little ones. Sol was the oldest kid there at age 5.

So, a good day had by all and some great writing ideas came to me during the day.  Will jot them down to start working on later.

Another great idea is for me to bring the girls up to NY during the week they are off of school to find out what being away from home is like and if they could make it through a two weeks with the old folks up in canada.   Lots for everyone to think about.

now for letters. Two this evening.

#51
Aug 6 or 13th noted by her mother on outside no date on letter other than postal stamp

Hello,
This is Sunday afternoon. The days just fly by, one is just like the next.  The weather is perfect now, so it is very lovely for we do a lot of work outside and walking back and forth.   Every time I walk across the fields and see all the tents I like it all better and am so happy to be here.

We have a tent now for Mass so I try to go each day.   I am washing the linen for Fr. O’Leary.   Someone has to do it.  I  continue to have him say masses for you all.

There is nothing to spend money on here!   I hope to save some for the first time in my life.   But there is no entertainment at all but seeing people.   Our laundry is cheap and our extra messing etc so I should get on my feet now.

Life still breezes along but at times reaches tornado proportions.   Last nite Jack Latimer came over and brought four other boys but I couldn’t get girls because Sat nite most of them were at parties (everyone asks us in groups.    I never go because I never have the time.) so I talked to them and Ted was coming over so he arrived and joined us.   He was very unhappy because he was just back and had lost two of his lads. (I knew them) so he was really away.   He is heading for a crack-up.   I hope they let him rest soon.   He is so brave and a wonderful leader.

Dick was over three nites last week, two of them I missed him and thank goodness I was here the third.   Norm got over again. Brought me a lovely pocket flashlight.  Another friend of mine brought me a big box of Smiles? and Chuckles.   The same day, I was so thrilled.   Joe Greenbladt was also over to see me yesterday.   Haven’t had any mail for a week from you. Very bad! Had a letter from the Edlins in Brighton, Very nice. Love and kisses Pat
P.S. Is this writing better Mother?

#52
August 10, 1944
Hello dears:
Mail comes very slowly but then all in a bunch.   Tues. I got a great pile, one from Mother, Dad, Ferg, Mrs Lochnan, Eileen Gibson, and Paul Stacks.  The next day one from Sheila and enclosed were five from the family so I really got all the news.   I send her all of mine also.

I am terribly busy. we work twelve hours straight and sometimes much longer and it is very hot (but I love that) other than our boots are so heavy and having nothing but the good earth under our feet all day it’s really something.   Fran Capeman (Copeman?) and I set up our ward the other day.   Seventy-five beds in three tents and an office, kitchen and service room combined joined by alley-ways.   We had a couple of lads in the pioneer corps to work for us so they made medicine cupboards, desks, tables, shelves etc. we gathered tins for ash-trays, boxes and more tins for everything we need.   We use kerosene stoves, we were just ready when we admitted 75 pts in two hours. Listen it was like forty second st and Broadway.   We are acting like a CCS.

The next morning forty (nearly all surgical cases) were evacuated only to be replaced at once and so it goes on and on.   The organization is really quite good though.   We usually just turn the sheet etc for a new pt.   They use a terrific amount of penicillin and the sulpha’s of course and anti gas gangrene serum.   I run with needles all day. Mother and Dad tell me I’m doing a wonderful job.

Well it’s a wonderful job believe me and I am honored to be able to work among such wonderful men.  It’s really a privilege! All the English lads etc want to get to a Cdn Hosp.   Everyone likes the Canadians, everyone raves about the way they fight!   They don’t know how to be anything but courageous and if anything happened to me over here (it won’t) but if it should I’d be honoured to die among them.  I’d like you all to know that.   But surely it will be over soon but it can’t be too soon for their sakes. This paper gets filled up too soon. I have so much to tell you.

Had my teeth cleaned yesterday and only one small cavity. Not bad for me eh. Dick comes over every third nite.   He is leaving Hq.   He too wants to fight, can’t be content behind.   He’s a dope!    Hope you don’t mind me going on about my various friends but they are all part

PS Don’t quote me too widely. I often think I tell you too much but I know how you like to hear. Use your own discretion.
PS Had Brig Wyman as a pt. Shrapnel wound. Very nice person.
PS Always forget this. I wish mother wouldn’t copy my letters. There are too many so please just save them. Is Misty going to Halifax?
love Pat.
Misty is Pat’s brother Maurice.  He was in the medical corps during the war and as a psychiatrist worked on those with what today we call PTSD developing treatments for them and supports.  The American’s borrowed him at one point during the war to come and teach them some of what he had found out.

Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

